A new trivial migration causes the previous migration to fail

I am somewhat new to django (~1 year) and was finally starting to feel pretty confident with myself until I ran into this issue which has left me at a loss.

My starting point had 15 migrations for my app. The 15th migration loaded data into my ‘plan’ table using the loaddata command.

At this point everything is A-OK. I can delete my database and migrate from scratch, app works great.

Now I did some work and noticed my tests would not run… giving the error
sqlite3.OperationalError: no such column: recommended_for_text
but my app was working fine, and isolated it to the smallest change that would cause the error:

I add a new (nullable) field to my plan model called ‘recommended_for_text’
I makemigrations, and migrate.

Having just done this, my app still works perfectly, however the unit tests wont run.

So I blow away my db and migrate and now it fails applying migration 0015 which worked before I created 0016.

It complains sqlite3.OperationalError: no such column: recommended_for_text

If i inspect the database as it exists now in its partially migrated state, and the column does in fact not exist (which is what I would expect)

migration 0015 is trying to insert records into the plan table, and the records it is trying to insert do not reference the ‘recommended_for_text’ at all, because it should not exist yet.

The dependencies all look right to me, but something is expecting that column to exist and I’m not sure if I’m doing something wrong (probably) or i have run into a bug (probably not!)

Can you post the contents of migrations 14, 15, and 16 here? (I’m wondering if there’s possibly a “dependencies” issue causing a problem.)

14 was unrelated but named

0014_sitecommandlog_note.py

0015_populate_pantheon_plans

# Generated by Django 4.1.10 on 2024-04-03 14:02
from django.core.management import call_command
from django.db import migrations

def load_pantheon_plans(apps, schema_editor):