Adding async to Django testing

Hi all,

NB: It’s worth prefacing this with acknowledging I’ve never used async before and apologies for any silly mistakes below…

I’ve been working on adding a an async option to django’s test suite to:

• Better test async code
  • In theory speed up testing

As a starting point I’ve tried to add async to SimpleTestCase without employing an @async_to_sync decorator. The idea is to have an self.client.a.get method that can asynchronously test a get request.

That seems to require async-ing all the way down and having finally gotten to this error I figured this was a decent point to ask advice:

runtests.py -k AsyncClientTest --parallel=1 --pdb

Testing against Django installed in '/django/django'
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/local/lib/python3.7/warnings.py", line 522, in _warn_unawaited_coroutine
    warn(msg, category=RuntimeWarning, stacklevel=2, source=coro)
RuntimeWarning: coroutine 'SimpleTestCase.__init__' was never awaited
  File "/django/tests/runtests.py", line 566, in <module>
    options.start_at, options.start_after, options.pdb,
  File "/django/tests/runtests.py", line 308, in django_tests
    extra_tests=extra_tests,
  File "/django/django/test/runner.py", line 682, in run_tests
    suite = self.build_suite(test_labels, extra_tests)
  File "/django/django/test/runner.py", line 569, in build_suite
    tests = self.test_loader.discover(start_dir=label, **kwargs)
  File "/usr/local/lib/python3.7/unittest/loader.py", line 349, in discover
    tests = list(self._find_tests(start_dir, pattern))
  File "/usr/local/lib/python3.7/unittest/loader.py", line 406, in _find_tests
    full_path, pattern, namespace)
  File "/usr/local/lib/python3.7/unittest/loader.py", line 460, in _find_test_path
    return self.loadTestsFromModule(module, pattern=pattern), False
  File "/usr/local/lib/python3.7/unittest/loader.py", line 124, in loadTestsFromModule
    tests.append(self.loadTestsFromTestCase(obj))