At a loss with nested, dynamic forms.

I’m brand new to Django, and a novice coder. I’m trying to figure out the Django way to do this:

This simple app allows a user to create a Gradeslip to grade a student on a predefined set of Skills. The skills are grouped by SkillCatgory. The Students, Skill, and SkillCategories are already in the database. I don’t want the user to be able to add/modify/delete the Students, Skills, or SkillCategories, just assign a grade to each skill when a new Gradeslip is created.

What the user should see is a page that selects the student, presents (in text) each skill (grouped by SkillCategory), and a form field to input a grade.

I feel like inline formsets are a part of the equation, but I don’t know that for sure. All of the examples I can find are a bit more simple than what I’m trying to do here. I feel like there are three things adding to my confusion:

1. Gradeslip and multiple SkillEvaluations need to all be created and associated at the same time.

2. SkillEvaluations have a FK to Skills (which has a FK to SkillCatgories), and neither Skills or SkillCategories should be created/modified by the user.

3. the user interface needs to have the Skills organized and labeled by SkillCategory.

Can someone please point me in a direction to go?

UML attached.

uml

Rephrasing this to ensure I understand the requirement.

You effectively have a Many-to-many relationship between GradeSlip and Skill, with SkillEvaluation as the “through” model.

An individual GradeSlip is related to one Student. A Student can be related to many GradeSlip.

A Skill is related to one SkillCategory. A SkillCategory can be related to many Skill.

Sequence of events - and this is where I think I’m confused:

What defines which SkillEvaluation instances need to be created?