Background Tasks using Celery based on model instances

Hey everyone,

I’ve been thinking about a project and want to use Django for it. I have some Python background and worked through Django tutorials before, so I have an idea how to set-up a Django project and make it do things.

For my current project, however, I want to make use of Celery tasks to run stuff regularly in the background. I have found the documentation and several good examples on how to set up and use Celery. Those examples usually concern primarily maintenance tasks, though.

More concretely, I want to have monitoring tasks running in the background and writing results in the database. Consider the following (simplified) models:

# models.py
from django.db import models

class BaseWatcher(models.Model):
    name = models.CharField(max_length=255)

class Meta:
         abstract = True

class HTTPWatcher(BaseWatcher):
    target_uri = models.CharField(max_length=255)
    interval = models.DurationField()
    last_status_code = models.IntegerField()

When adding an instance of HTTPWatcher (e.g. through the Admin UI), I know want to create a periodic Celery tasks that does some simple HTTP request logic and put the resulting status code into the database for this instance.

Where would be the best place to put the code for the corresponding task? The models.py does not seem the proper place for it.

If someone can provide me with a pointer to some fitting example or introduction, that’d be appreciated!

Thanks & best regards
Christopher

If by periodic you mean that it runs on a schedule (such as once per hour), then I’d recommend making it a custom django-admin command that can be run either as a cron job or from Celery Beats.

On the other hand, if you mean periodic in that some event within your system triggers it to run, then I would create it as a normal Celery task - which in my case means it would reside in my tasks.py file.

Hi Ken,