Best Practices for updating one field based on another

Hello I am new to django and wondering what the best practices are for a model I am designing.

I have a field, tn, which needs to increase by one every time a new instance of that class is created. I also have another field, Counter, which needs to increase by 1 every n times tn increases. What is the best practice here? Is it better to have Counter as a separate class or a field within tn?

Depending on which is better how would you go about doing that? Any help is greatly appreciated.

class Tn(models.model):
    tn = models.PositiveIntegerField(unique=True, primary_key=True, editable=False)
    counter = models.PositiveIntegerField(editable=False

)

I’m a bit confused.
What are you trying to accomplish?

But if i understood correctly
The tn field should be a AutoField or BigAutoField, this documentation covers them.
But the counter field is always to be the same as the maximum number of tn, if that’s the case, then this should not be a field on the database, but a computed valued. See aggregation and the section Cheat Sheet contains a example using the Max function

Hello thank you for your quick reply, I think I understand about the TN field - I have read that and changed it to:

tn = models.AutoField(primary_key=True)

I want the Counter field to increase every time TN is divisible by 40 without remainder or every 40 tn.
So for example:
TN 1-40, Counter 1
TN 41-80, Counter 2
TN 81-120, Counter 3
etc.
Does this make more sense what I am trying to achieve?

Since this can be computed quickly from tn, I would not make it a separate field. I would compute it on the fly as necessary.

Side note: In a production environment, you may end up with “gaps” in your sequence. There is no guarantee that you will have an instance of your model for every distinct value of tn. You need to decide how important that factor is, and how that affects your Counter.

Hi Ken, thanks for your reply.