calculated fields in models

I am new to Django and new to Python. I decided to build a project to practise my understanding.

Anyway while designing my tables what I found is that I would like to have a field in there that is calculated through say a python function. I read through and found that I could potentially use @property decorator and setter.

ref: [https://www.stavros.io/posts/how-replace-django-model-field-property/](http://How to replace a Django model field with a property)

So in my model class I have:

class CapacityRequest(models.Model):

cr = models.IntegerField(verbose_name="Change Request No")

disktier = models.ForeignKey('Disktier', on_delete=models.SET_DEFAULT,default=1)

requestedby = models.CharField(max_length=50, verbose_name='Requested By')

datacentre = models.ForeignKey('Datacentre', on_delete=models.SET_DEFAULT,default=1)

storageresource = models.CharField(max_length=50, verbose_name='VM Name/Datastore/Lun')

vcpu = models.IntegerField(default=0)

ram = models.IntegerField(default=0)

requestdate = models.DateTimeField(auto_now=True,verbose_name="Request Date")

notes = models.CharField(max_length=80)

diskspacegb = models.IntegerField(default=0)

_diskspace_gb_vswap = models.DecimalField(db_column="diskspace_gb_vswap", decimal_places=2 , max_digits=10)

@property

def diskspace_gb_vswap(self):

return self._diskspace_gb_vswap

@diskspace_gb_vswap.setter

def diskspace_gb_vswap(self , value):

self._diskspace_gb_vswap = self.diskspacegb * 1.5

In the shell
I import the necessary classes and after getting the object details for the foreign keys run this in the django shell to see if it will work.

capacityrequest = CapacityRequest(cr = 2353253 , disktier = ssddatastore , storageresource = ‘VMTest’ , diskspacegb = 60)

then

capacityrequest.save()

However i am getting an error that says:

django.db.utils.IntegrityError: NOT NULL constraint failed: capacityrequest_capacityrequest.diskspace_gb_vswap