Cross origin request cookies - Django/Angular in separate containers

Hi everyone.I am new to the domain of software engineering so I may not use the best terms to describe my situation! but i look forward to any advice or feedback anyone has.

I have started working on a pre-existing projject that has multiple docker containers.
Django is being used inside a container, and there is another container serving the front end (Angular/Apache).

I have had major grief in getting authentication and session cookies to be accepted by the browser in this setting which is cross origin I believe…

My HTTP requests are set to send to a URL (document.location.hostname), they are set to crossDomain and they are set to withCredentials.

My CORS headers whitelist the IP address (gets rid of one CORS error in the browser!)
CORS_ALLOW_CREDENTIALS = True
SESSION_COOKIE_SAMESITE = ‘None’
SESSION_COOKIE_SECURE = True

and then here i seem to get my probelms starting in that the cookies MUST be secure if samesite is None - so then my requests have to be HTTPS for the browser to attach a secure cookie to the request.
Django itself doesn’t do https/SSL stuff…

I am using django_extensions with runserver_plus as a workaround atm.

This app runs on a local network behind a lot of security and doesn’t “need” to be secure.

Is there away to modify Django Cors or cookie settings or my HTTP requests so that the cookies will without needing to be secure and needing HTTPS?
Can I somehow do a “cookie whitelist” to just the IP address of the frontend?

Keep in mind that this doesn’t matter regarding this issue. What CORS protects you against is one of your users visiting a different site that loads JavaScript in their browser that causes them to perform actions on your site.

You describe that you’re currently using Werkzeug (runserver_plus) as a “workaround”. How are you planning on running it as a “non-workaround”? (Please don’t say “runserver”. Really, don’t.)