Custom functions on non database data

I am a self-taught developer and django user, building a solution for my company.
The project will provide a facility to perform searches across company datasets for multiple values at one time.

• Each value is identified by data type (e.g. phone numbers, email addresses, mac addresses, IMEI numbers)
  • Dependant on the data type different tables are searched for matches (all django) and type-specific functions are run. (external API calls, lookups, string manipulation etc)
  • Search values and relevant results are displayed row by row in a table

Crucially none of the searched values ever hit the database, this is all a runtime.

My approach so far has been to do this via custom classes and methods which I’ve built in managers.py and call from views.py, but the more I consider the issue and learn about the framework the more I question this.

I’m also detecting that some of my class methods are being called elsewhere in the framework ( _resolve_lookup for one) which can’t be efficient?

How would you suggest I approach the problem?
Should I be defining each of these data types and custom functions in models.py with managed = False?
Would I benefit somehow by putting the searched values into the database?

full disclosure I already asked this question on Reddit but didn’t find a solution other than “do the tutorial again”

TIA

You’d definitely benefit from putting them into a database - databases are built literally to do searches across datasets, and they’re really quite good at it.

Django’s model system is designed to pull from a database, so you won’t be able to use it on data that’s in custom classes and methods; if you keep going down that road, you will have to keep writing all the searching logic yourself.