Custom User with Parent Model

Hi All,

I’m very new to Django so apologies in advance if this is an obvious problem, I have been through docs and numerous blog posts etc. but not getting anywhere fast so hoping someone can help here. I feel like my requirement is relatively straight forward so hopefully I’m just missing something obvious. This is a bit long winded too, trying to give as much info as possible, so again, apologies.

I was hoping to be able to create a “model” which acts as a parent to the User model, for example, each User is a member of a department. The available Departments are stored in a separate Department model. The Department ID will be part of the User model and have an FK relationship to the Department model, manyToOne - since a Department can have many users, essentially a parent table to User. I want to ensure users cannot be created unless a pre-existing Department is selected.

I also have the requirement to use Email address as the Username. So to this end, I have created a custom user model as per the docs: Customizing authentication in Django | Django documentation | Django

The custom model is all working fine, I can add a user with email address as the username and some other simple extra attributes like phone number, so I know that is OK.

I then tried to implement my Department bit, so I have defined a simple model like this;

class Department(models.Model):
department_name = models.CharField(max_length=150, unique=True)

Then in my custom User model I have the below additional field defined:

department = models.ForeignKey(Department, on_delete=models.PROTECT)

This all hung together OK when making migrations and I can see the FK relationship in my DB:

In my custom user creation form I have a ChoiceField which fetches the data from Departments to provide the available options, all good so far.

Now for the issue, when I try to submit the data for a new user it fails with: