Developing SPA with templates

I am new to Django and need some direction on what is the best way to achieve the below

I am redesigning the frontend of a web application and indent it to behave as a SPA. I have a base.html that has the base layout of the page and want to show the relevant content on the page based on user selection by using block section (within base.html) and templates.

Kindly advice.

An SPA means that you’re not going to do full page refreshes. Your JavaScript on the front end will be invoking views and retrieving JSON data responses or HTMX / HTML fragments - any of which can be used by the JS to update the page being viewed.

What you won’t be doing is creating a full page using templates. Each view that you write will be responsible for providing the updates / changes to the page in the browser.

True, the frontend JS is requesting HTML fragments that also contain jinja variables that are not populated and are rendered as text. posting code snippets for clarity:

base.html

<section id="contentArea">
        <!-- All the active4 content to be placed here  -->
        {% block content123 %} {% endblock %}
</section>

index.html

{% block content123 %} 
<div id="home-ready-top-area" class="">
<div class="summary-detail">
<label class="label-static">Total Prints</label><label id="layer-height" class="label-values">{{tstat.TotalPlatePrints}}</label>
</div>...</div>...

Based on the navigation link selection the block content needs to be refreshed. kindly advice.

The selected navigation link needs to trigger some JS function. That JS function will call a view. The view will return either JSON or HTML to your JS code. Your JS code is then responsible for updating the page.

exactly. However, the variables (like {{tstat.TotalPlatePrints}}) are not getting populated when JS gets the HTML and replaces contentArea div with new code. All the variables are displayed as text and the values are not rendered.