Django, Djongo and SQLParse dependency

Hi everyone,

I am trying to connect my Django application to my MongoDB Atlas database using Djongo as my database engine. The Djongo package require sqlparse=0.2.4. However, at the same time it requires Django to be >=2.1 and <=3.0.5. The issue is that I am using conda to manage my environment and I installed Django 3.0.3 which has a dependency sqlparse=0.3.1 (???). I manually uninstalled the 0.3.1 version using “conda remove” and tried to install the 0.2.4 version. As expected I got an error saying that my environment will be inconsistent due to Django 3.0.3 requiring the sqlparse 0.3.1 version.

Obviously since I am using Djongo my sqlparse has to be of the 0.2.4 version. I am new to Django and MongoDB so I am not quite sure how I can solve this correctly. So my question is, can Django 3.0.3 work with sqlparse=0.2.4? And if not then what version of Django is it recommended to install to solve this issue?

Thanks for your help.

From what I can see and quickly determine, Django 3.0.6 only has a requirement for sqlparse >= 0.2.2, which means that sqlparse 0.2.4 should work fine with it.

(I just tested a pip install of Django 3.0.6 with sqlparse==0.2.4 and didn’t get any warnings or errors. Didn’t try running anything with it, so I don’t know if there are any more subtle problems that could be encountered.)

Snippets:

pip install django==3.0.3
Collecting django==3.0.3
  Downloading Django-3.0.3-py3-none-any.whl (7.5 MB)
     |████████████████████████████████| 7.5 MB 1.4 MB/s 
Requirement already satisfied: sqlparse>=0.2.2 in /home/tskww/ve/d38/lib/python3.8/site-packages (from django==3.0.3) (0.2.4)
Requirement already satisfied: pytz in /home/tskww/ve/d38/lib/python3.8/site-packages (from django==3.0.3) (2019.3)
Requirement already satisfied: asgiref~=3.2 in /home/tskww/ve/d38/lib/python3.8/site-packages (from django==3.0.3) (3.2.7)

and

pip install django==3.0.6
Collecting django==3.0.6