Django DurationField for only hours and minutes?

Hi everyone! I am working with a ModelForm where I have a field that is stored in the database as a DurationField

Now on user input, when a user enters 1:30 I would like this to register as 1 hour and 30 minutes, but the DurationField stores this in the database as 00:01:30 which is 1 minute and 30 seconds.

When I go into my django shell, I see the output of the field as datetime.timedelta(seconds=90) I am trying to figure out a way to convert this to either datetime.timedelta(minutes=90) or even parse 00 on the end of input just to store this correctly in the DB

I’m not sure why the timedelta defaults to seconds ?

I’ve never worked with a DurationField field before, and appreciate any guidance

It might be helpful if you posted the relevent code / templates / settings / whatever that is handling this field.

I’m Just using a simple crispy form using a DurationField which just renders in the form as a text field.

class TimeForm(ModelForm):
    setup_duration = forms.DurationField(required=False)

I attempted to build a custom parser such as…

def duration_string(duration):

days = duration.days
    seconds = duration.seconds

minutes = seconds // 60

hours = minutes // 60
    minutes = minutes % 60

dur_string = f'{hours}:{minutes}:00'
    if days:
        dur_string = 'f{days} + dur_string'
    return dur_string

class CustomDurationField(forms.DurationField):
    def prepare_value(self, value):
        if isinstance(value, datetime.timedelta):
            return duration_string(value)
        return value

class TimeForm(ModelForm):
    setup_duration = CustomDurationField()

But when a user inputs 1:30 into the form field it still saves in the DB DurationField as minutes:seconds, which I am looking for hours:minutes.

The above user input example of 1:30 would store in my DB as datetime.timedelta(seconds=90), which I need it stored as datetime.timedelta(minutes=90)