Django tutorial: `python manage.py startapp polls` fails

Trying the official tutorial, using Catalina 10.15.5, python 3.8.3 and django 3.0.6, is failing with:

TypeError: argument of type 'PosixPath' is not iterable

Absolute beginner with Django, couldn’t find much help with searches.

Where at within the official tutorial are you receiving this message?
(What command is generating this message and what step are you on?)

1 Like

From here, everything was successful until I got to this section.

The traceback is:
Traceback (most recent call last):

File “manage.py”, line 22, in
main()
File “manage.py”, line 18, in main
execute_from_command_line(sys.argv)
File “/Users/bobrien/.pyenv/versions/django-realpython.com/lib/python3.8/site-packages/django/core/management/init.py”, line 401, in execute_from_command_line
utility.execute()
File “/Users/bobrien/.pyenv/versions/django-realpython.com/lib/python3.8/site-packages/django/core/management/init.py”, line 395, in execute
self.fetch_command(subcommand).run_from_argv(self.argv)
File “/Users/bobrien/.pyenv/versions/django-realpython.com/lib/python3.8/site-packages/django/core/management/base.py”, line 341, in run_from_argv
connections.close_all()
File “/Users/bobrien/.pyenv/versions/django-realpython.com/lib/python3.8/site-packages/django/db/utils.py”, line 230, in close_all
connection.close()
File “/Users/bobrien/.pyenv/versions/django-realpython.com/lib/python3.8/site-packages/django/utils/asyncio.py”, line 26, in inner
return func(*args, **kwargs)
File “/Users/bobrien/.pyenv/versions/django-realpython.com/lib/python3.8/site-packages/django/db/backends/sqlite3/base.py”, line 261, in close
if not self.is_in_memory_db():
File “/Users/bobrien/.pyenv/versions/django-realpython.com/lib/python3.8/site-packages/django/db/backends/sqlite3/base.py”, line 380, in is_in_memory_db
return self.creation.is_in_memory_db(self.settings_dict[‘NAME’])