Docker deployment and django

I have a feeling some of you may have experience with Docker, me however - I am just beginning to learn. I have had huge trouble trying to make a docker-compose build on windows. I don’t want to get into the detail of my configuration, I just want to say that even after setting up WSL 2 (installing a linux app on windows), I had the same issues - the requirements.txt file never working with uWSGI. It has gotten to the point where I feel the docker technology isn’t mature enough for windows, and I’m reverting to using Linux.
I simply want to ask - which Linux distribution would you recommend for creating a docker deployment? does it matter as long as it’s a stable recent build? I’m not sure if using linux on a VM with vmware or something would be sufficient as it might limit the dependencies I can install - do you have any thoughts on that? Right now I’m thinking I should install a full linux distro through a USB.

You can probably use anything as long as it provides a container daemon and supports the docker commands.

I regularly do docker-based development using virtual machines in either VirtualBox or VMWare. There are no limits regarding what you can install in either of them. They really are complete virtualized environments. In practice, you can’t tell the difference between them and a native installation unless you go looking for those differences.

We also use uWSGI - we have created a base docker package where the instance of uWSGI was built for the base container. All our application containers are built from that as the base.

That’s interesting, I might try VirtualBox.

I’m experimenting with this again on windows, just to try and understand why this could be happening: