DRF backend, separate frontend

Hi all

I’m looking to build an API which will feed a website (and maybe mobile app). I wanted to use DRF for the backend API and then have a separate frontend (likely SPA like react). I’m new to Django so checking out guides/tutorials and most seem to either embed react into a template (not what I want to do as I want to do SSR easily) or have separate backend and use token auth and just save it in local storage (which i obviously can’t do).

What’s the usual way to authenticate a separate frontend from a django backend on different domains? Looking around I’ve seen discussion of using a HTTPOnly cookie etc but no definitive guidance which covers both CSRF and XSS etc. Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks.

Honestly, you can design the folder structures however you want, in my opinion, because you’ll likely be running your frontend and backend on separate servers and using CORS headers to properly send the data back and forth.

Personally, I tend to have separate frontend and backend folders just for code organization, especially because I use CORS headers with Django and React.

Here’s the documentation for installing and using CORS headers with Django:

Thanks @Suttonium. Is the approach taken in this guide standard for separate environment front/backend? (non-JWT and on app . domain . com and api . domain . com as the article describes)

Especially the part about having an endpoint for getting the CSRF token for an authenticated user.

Some clarification please.

So if I have:

1. DRF application running on api.domain
  2. React SPA being served (likely node.js) from app.domain which consumes the DRF.

I can set cors on the django app so that the brwoser doesnt block calls from the SPA to the API as they are not being served from the same domain. Thats fine.