get_bytes_from_wsgi Encoding

Hi guys, I’m using django and the openlitespeed wsgi Server App.
The “get_bytes_from_wsgi” method encodes the path to ‘iso-8859-1’, but I want it to encode ‘utf-8’.
because when I use non-English letters in the path of files, I get an error of 500
what’s the solution?

I don’t know of a more “proper” solution, but if I were to make a guess at something that should work, I’d look at using a custom version of get_bytes_from_wsgi.

You could probably either “monkey-patch” django.core.handlers.wsgi with your version, or you could copy that entire file into your project, and replace the call to get_wsgi_application with your own function that imports WSGIHandler from your project’s copied wsgi.py.

No idea whether or not this will work - but if I were facing this situation, that’s what I’d be trying.

1 Like

I’m no expert on all the URL pieces, but have you researched why Django uses that encoding? What’s the exception you’re seeing?

I created a test file with a URL using Ogham characters - a rare Irish alphabet (video) and it worked fine:

import html
import os
import sys

from django.conf import settings
from django.http import HttpResponse
from django.urls import path

settings.configure(
    DEBUG=(os.environ.get("DEBUG", "") == "1"),
    # Dangerous: disable host header validation
    ALLOWED_HOSTS=["*"],
    # Make this module the urlconf
    ROOT_URLCONF=__name__,
    # We aren't using any security features but Django requires this setting
    SECRET_KEY="hch@!oursic96$lyiuj=&+-9y&6pp_df$3k1#j_ub+9sy-rs5y",
)

def view(request):
    return HttpResponse("Hello!")

urlpatterns = [
    path("᚛ᚈᚑᚋ ᚄᚉᚑᚈᚈ᚜-and-᚛ᚑᚌᚐᚋ᚜/", view),
]

if __name__ == "__main__":
    from django.core.management import execute_from_command_line
    execute_from_command_line(sys.argv)

(Ran with python app.py runserver - template)