GSOC 2021 Proposal - Form Styles as Objects

Hey all, my name is Lewis. I’m a penultimate-year MSci Computer Science student at the University of Exeter.

About me

As a quick brief on my experience, I’ve been using Django professionally for over 12 months. These projects include:

• An EdTech platform, under Magpie Education (Django + Angular, monolithic).
  • A Virtual Learning Environment application, under Hatless Studios (Django + Vue, backend-for-frontends over DRF).

In the past, I’ve used the framework for a variety of hackathons and personal projects. This includes:

• Bunchup, a social media platform for building online communities (github/LloydTao/Hackathon-NASA-2020).
  • A tropical cyclone visualiser (github/LloydTao/Hackathon-Met-Office-2020).

Finally, although it’s not much of a mark, I do have one OSS contribution under my belt:

• nuxt/create-nuxt-app: feat: prompt for git (github/nuxt/create-nuxt-app/pull/596).

Issue

In my opinion, it’s too difficult to inject CSS classes and styles into form fields.

Let’s explore a use case. Currently, we’re able to address a field’s attributes within a form. For example, we can use {{ field.field }} in an email field in order to render <input id="id_email" type="email"> in the markup.

However, there’s no direct way to inject classes and styles here. In Bootstrap, a simple class="form-control" takes an <input> from ugly to pretty, but doing this is difficult.

It would be nice to have a simple method of applying the form-control class, and any other classes and styles.

Current alternatives

One solution is to write CSS for <input> and related tags.

However, this isn’t a modular approach. Additionally, utility-first CSS frameworks (e.g. TailwindCSS) would be left in the dust, requiring a wealth of @apply rules that defeat utility-first practises.

Another way to get around this is to use the third-party package django-crispy-forms.