How to limit entries or improve performance with GeoDjango map?

Already asked at SO: I’ve followed @pauloxnet 's great tutorial but keep running out of ram / the browser crashes, presumably because my DB has millions of entries and I don’t think anything’s limiting the number of results.

How can we limit the number of responses, if that’d be the issue? Someone responded to my question recommending Pagination, and although I implemented the solution without error this now doesn’t show any results. Is this the right way to go about it? Is there anything I can do to elaborate on InBBoxFilter? And for that matter, is there any way to examine the actual query run in Postgres?

I’m new to everything so don’t know how to best troubleshoot this, so please forgive me asking such a stupid question. Also, I don’t yet understand django-rest-framework, so if this is a DRF specific issue please feel free to redirect me to wherever I should ask such questions.

Thank you for any help!

1 Like

Hi Chris,

There are a couple of options for getting the raw SQL. Some are easier in a shell, others you can drop into the code in your application.

1. print(queryset.query)
  2. Print the connection’s queries:
from django.db import connection
# eval the queryset such as list(queryset)
print(connection.queries)
  1. Use the Django Debug Toolbar
  2. You can also use queryset.explain() to use the underlying database’s EXPLAIN feature to see what’s going on within the query itself too.

How can we limit the number of responses, if that’d be the issue?

What would you like to limit the responses to?

1 Like

Tim, thank you very much for the reply! I hadn’t enabled email notifications and I didn’t think to check this thread until now.