I want to create a follow/follower system

I have started a Django project (complete newbie) and it is a social network. I am trying to implement a system of being able to follow users. I have tried so many different alternatives I am completely confused! Can anyone recommend documentation about implementing a basic follow system in Django?

Whatever information I have found people are using the id or pk in the urls.py file but I am using slug for my urls and I think that is contributing to my error.

I have code setup which isn’t working and I didn’t want to just dump all my code here. What I first wanted to ask is whether there is any documentation or whether anyone has managed to set up a follow system that I could use/learn from to help me. Thanks in advance.

There have been a handful of threads here in the forum of other people working their way through that type of system. Most of them include significant sections of code.

There are multiple ways of doing this, it’s up to you to decide which path you’re going to take, and your choice is going to depend upon exactly what you want to do.

For example, a Person could follow another Person. Or, you may want to have a Person follow a Group. Or, you may want a Person to be able to follow an individual Post. Each of these choices (or a combination thereof) may have an effect on the implementation.

So what I would suggest:

• Browse some of the other discussions here
  • Define, as precisely as you can, what exactly you mean by a “follow/follower” system. This include enumerating the actions to be performed.
  • Define your models to support that functionality.
  • Implement that functionality in your views.

Thank you Ken
I had a search but couldn’t find anything relevant but maybe I was in the wrong section. I will try again.