id = models.AutoField()

Disclaimer: I am a complete newbie to both Django and database creation is a faint memory from college. So bear with me.

I am using the ‘python manage.py inspectdb > output.py’ command to inspect what errors or items I may need to correct in the class definitions created. I’ve tried searching here and google but I cannot find an answer or example where the primary key is missing in the model, and the id = models.AutoField() is used only once on the first table model with the remainder not showing the pk field as shown below.

For example:

class Alternatives(models.Model):
    id = models.AutoField()
    idealization = models.CharField(max_length=39, blank=True, null=True)
    increase_effectiveness = models.CharField(
                                              db_column='Increase effectiveness', 
                                              max_length=44, blank=True, 
                                              null=True
                                              )

class Meta:
        managed = False
        db_table = 'alternatives'

The remainder of the tables appear like this even though each table contains a column (id) that is a serial type and not null:

class Primatives(models.Model):
    name = models.CharField(db_column='Name', max_length=128, blank=True, 
                                              null=True)  
    description = models.CharField(max_length=2048, blank=True, null=True)

class Meta:
        managed = False
        db_table = 'primatives'

Diagram of ‘primatives’ table
postgresqlPrimativeTableERD

I suspect the pk columns may not be listed because they are created as part of the makemigration process normally so the inspectdb function is skipping that part and may require me to copy and paste the id column definition from the ‘Alternatives’ column.

Couple different points here: