I'm completely new to django.It doesn't work well.

But I’m getting that general message instead of my own.

Hello!

Just a tip, please explain what you have done and what you need help with. Be precise, what do you want?

@abbasj I want something personalized and not a general message!
I’ve followed steps as given by ChatGPT 4o, but something is wrong.

I’ve created all the necessary subdirectories and run this command python manage.py runserver but I’m getting just this general page:

Everything seem to work fine, but if you want to render a template, you need to a view and a template. Have you created the template in the template folder?

I suggest you check the documentation where it is described, but you need to create a template folder inside you app like this:

Screenshot 2024-05-30 231023

I have created a template folder within the main_app. It is important that the folder is called templates, nothing else. Inside the template, create a second folder that has the same name as your app, nothing else. Add you template inside that folder.

In you views, do the following:

def ViewName(request):
   context = {}
   return render(request, "e.g main_app/you_template_name.html", context)

In you settings file, you must configure the following:

You are basically letting Django know where to search for the templates.

Now your personalized template will load.

Happy reading:

1 Like

Welcome @paxx0 !

For future reference to both you and @abbasj, please avoid posting images of code or other textual information. Copy / paste the text into the body of your post, surrounded between lines of three backtick characters.

Doesn’t work. At best what I would need is a .zip file with all the correct directory structure which I could unzip and use!

I welcome you to Django. Learning it has it challenges, but it’s very fulfilling.

Please explain what you have done, I’ll guide you to the best of my ability.

Thank you for your kind words!