integrating variable in FilePathField path attribute

Hi all,

I’m brand new to django, and I’m stuck on something so simple (?) I’m pretty confused to ask…
Extract from model.py :

inv_app_fs = FileSystemStorage(location="/inventaires_ansible")

class Inventaire(models.Model):
    inventaire_name = models.CharField(max_length=20)
    inv_last_modif = models.DateTimeField("derniere modif")
    #inv_file_path = model.FilePathField(path="inv_app_fs/{ self.inventaire_name }.ok" 
    def __str__(self):
        return self.inventaire_name

My issue is with the commented line :
How to pass the varables (inv_app_fs and self.inventaire_name), concataned to the string : “.ok” (dot is important, as you can guess).
Should I wrap variables into ‘{’, or ‘{{’, or ?..

I tried in a shell with things like :

inv_app_fs = FileSystemStorage(location="inventaires_ansible")
path = default_storage.save( inv_app_fs.location + "/fst.ok", ContentFile(b"iHello world"))

(with or without brackets, double brackets, and all kind of combinations, without any success).

The goal, whichever module I use, is to be able to store dynamic file path in the model, or to access the file using dynamic path.

If someone could help (I red a lot of documentations, examples… but never found one with variables).

Regards

Welcome @E.T !

A model field can define a default, but the values are assigned to the instance of that model.

It’s actually not any different than any other field in that regard. You can assign a value to the inv_file_path field the same way you assign a value to the inventaire_name field. They really aren’t very different. (At the database layer, it’s just another CharField.)

Have you worked your way through either (or both) of the Official Django Tutorial and the Django Girls Tutorial? If not, you should.

Hi KenWhitesell,

Thanks for your answer.
My issue is not “how to assign a value” to the attribute, but how should I use this value in the path=argument ?
It’s a syntax issue for :