Master - Detail - Child in Django

I am new to django, need suggestions/help, we have the following requirement, need to design html template/form using Bootstrap 5 etc… This need to be a single page CRUD application, need to capture master, detail and child data in single page and save it to MySQL database tables, Is this possible in django?

1 Master Table
1 Detail Table Foreign Key References to Master Table
1 Child Table Foreign Key References to Detail Table

if anybody tried this type of requirement, kindly help me by providing reference articles/documents/blogs to achieve this. We have similar two applications to build, we have done application based on single table only till now, but in the above requirement we have dependent tables this is where I got struck and need help.

Tried single table forms/model/view architecture which are working fine.

Absolutely.

Django forms and formsets will allow you to create editable forms for this data.

Then you’re going to want a lot of JavaScript involvement. Any of raw JavaScript, HTMX, jQuery, Vue, React, Angular, etc are going to allow you to build the UI with various degrees of involvement from the server.

(Personally, I’ve become quite enamored with htmx. It has become my tool-of-choice for SPA-style activity.)

It might be helpful if you were more specific with where you’ve gotten stuck. It’ll make it easier to either provide the appropriate resources or to directly assist you.

1 Like

The docs also explain how to work with this type of relationship: Many-to-one relationships | Django documentation | Django

I have tried with single table i.e. created a model, view and Template and implemented the logic, but I don’t know how my use case can be implemented. I need to use html, bootstrap forms and django, and implement master, detail and child logic in model, view and template.