Mixin adding sort facility to ListView

Hello, I’ve just started with Django and I’m also new to Python (I have experience in web development with other languages/frameworks).

I started by using the built-in class-based view to list objects (ListView) but I’ve been surprised by the absence of a built-in facility to manage sorting automatically. It is mandatory that it works together with the existing pagination tool.
I don’t want to use an external package to implement such a basic function since Django should be “Batteries-Included”, so I solved writing a Mixin (code and explanation below).

Since I’m a newbie in Django/Python I’d like to hear your opinions about my code.
Thank you for your comments and suggestions!

A simple class to wrap sort field value and direction:

class SortField:
    SORT_DIR_ASC = "asc"
    SORT_DIR_DESC = "desc"

def __init__(self, sort_by, sort_dir=SORT_DIR_ASC):
        self.sort_by = sort_by
        self.sort_dir = sort_dir

def __repr__(self):
        return f"SortField({self.sort_by}, {self.sort_dir})"

The Mixin:

class SortableListMixin:
    default_sort_field = None  # override to set default sorting data
    q_sort_by = "qSortBy"  # query string param name for the field
    q_sort_dir = "qSortDir"  # query string param name for sort direction (ascending/descending)

def get_default_sort_field(self) -> SortField:
        return self.default_sort_field

def get_ordering(self):
        sf = self.get_default_sort_field()
        orderby = self.request.GET.get(self.q_sort_by, sf.sort_by)
        sort_direction = self.request.GET.get(self.q_sort_dir, sf.sort_dir)

# The negative sign in front the value indicates descending order.
        if sort_direction == SortField.SORT_DIR_DESC:
            orderby = "-" + orderby
        return orderby

# keep current sorting url (query string) while paging
    # Example:
    #   <a href="?page={{ page_obj.next_page_number }}&{{ ctx_sort_qstring }}">next</a>