ModuleNotfoundError <projectname>.users in cookiecutter django project

Hi all,

I have an app I am moving to production on Linode. It is named hr_py

This is my first time using a PaaS and having to install all the applications. Prev I have used pythonanywhere. It’s been a learning experience!

Locally the app works fine. It is running Python 3.7 on Windows

The Production is Ubuntu 20something with Python 3.8

Prod is running in a virtual environment.

The Django app base is django-cookiecutter by @pydanny (Thanks Daniel!)

When I begin the first migrate

python3 manange.py migrate

I get the following error:

ModuleNotFoundError: No module named 'hr_py.users'

Full error:

The settings file (base.py) has this code:

LOCAL_APPS = [
     'hr_py.users.apps.UsersAppConfig',
     # Your stuff: custom apps go here
]

The file hr_py/users/apps is:

from django.apps import AppConfig

class UsersAppConfig(AppConfig):
    name = "hr_py.users"
    verbose_name = "Users"

def ready(self):
        try:
            import users.signals  # noqa F401
        except ImportError:
            pass

There seems to be nothing out of place and the file exists so why is it erroring out?

I’ve done a lot of googling and I couldn’t find this error.

Any ideas from you fine folks?

Thanks!

Deploying to a PaaS is certainly a challenge. I haven’t finished it yet but I’ve been working through this tutorial by Corey Schafer on deploying to Linode, maybe it could be useful for you too. I’ve also heard (on Hacker Public Radio) the book SSH Mastery recommended for learning about how ssh works, but I’ve only read a couple of chapters in it. So far it’s good though.