Muttiple datatime fields sort by most recent

Hi,

Im very new to Python and Django and stuck on a problem and after some help.

I have a function view that returns data from the database, this data contains 4 datetime fields all relating to different things, like startdate, enddate etc.

I have 10 entires in the database, each entry as 4 dates. The list wants to list in order the dates regardless of the entire.

MyFirstEntry
Event : DateTime
MyThirdEnrty
Event : DateTime
MyFirstEntry:
Event2 : DateTime

To get the data i have a basic function view

@login_required
def getDate(request):
    results=events.objects.all().order_by()
    return render(request,"pages/events.html",{"events":results})

class Meta:
        db_table="apps_events"

Any pointers would be amazing.

Thanks

Tommy

It may be helpful if you posted the model involved here, along with a more detailed description of what you’re needing to do.

You wrote:

What do you mean by this?

Can you explain a little more about what you’re trying to accomplish?

Sorry Ken, i think the spellcheck kicked in there.

The list wants to list in order the dates regardless of the entry or row in the database.

class Events(models.Model):
    event_name = models.CharField(max_length=255, blank=False)
    event_start_date = models.DateTimeField(blank=True, null=True)
    event_midterm_date = models.DateTimeField(blank=True, null=True)
    event_end_date = models.DateTimeField(blank=True, null=True)

def __str__(self):
        return str(self.Events)

Thanks for the quick reply Ken.

Should of added that i want to show this in a table in html like this:
EventName:
event_start_date : datetime
EventName
EventName

but sorted in a order of whatever the closest date is. I hope that makes sense

We’re getting closer, but I’m still not sure I’m following you.

Are you just looking to sort by event_start_date?
e.g. results = events.objects.all().order_by('event_start_date')

Or am I still missing something in what you’re asking?