process data

I’m new to django.
I have read a lot of doc’s and made some test projects and start to understand the working of django a little bit.
I’ve a question, my first but probably not my last:

I have a form for a model1 (db table1). I want to process the data of that form and save the original data of the form in model1 (db table1) and the processed data in another model2 (db table2). What to do (I think) I know but …
Where must I do the processing:

1. in the view.py
  2. in another python script
  3. stored procedure in the db
  4. something else I can / need to do

The most basic definition of a Django view is that it’s the code that receives a request and returns a response. What happens between those two events is entirely up to you.

If someone fills out an HTML form, and a button on that form submits that form to your Django app, it’s a view that is going to get that form to process it. That view can do whatever you want to do with that submitted form.

Thanks.
I can process the data in the view and no problem with storing in model1 (table1) but how can I store it in the second model (table2). Can you put me in the right direction.

There’s no difference between the two cases. You’re either creating a new instance of a model or updating an existing instance of a model - it doesn’t matter what the model is, or how many different models are involved.

Thanks for the info.
It works in my testproject as a proof of concept but I need to refine it because I think it is not djangonic (is this an excisting expression!).

I’ve another problem where I’m stuck for a few days.

1. I want to use a Listview.
  2. Iterate over the rows of the model
  3. Do some calculations with some fields
  4. put the rows and the additional calculations in the context
  5. display this in a template.
    Point 1,3,4,5 I’ve no problems with (not yet at least) but I’ve a problem with point 2.
    How do I get each row to be able to do the calculations
    I tried :