Process flow in Class-based views - I just don't get it

Hi all,

TL;DR:
Don’t understand some basics of CBVs. Would like to let my CreateView make some server-side checks on formfields before it redirects to another URL. Don’t know how to do it and would like to understand how I could have solved that by consulting the documentation.

Praise to the django documentation team
I’m new to django. At first I would like to make the whole django documentation team a huge compliment. It’s at least one of the best documentations I have read in the last years. So if anyone from the team is reading: Thanks so much!

Background
Actually I’m struggleing a bit with Class Based Views. After reading the documentation [1] and and API reference [2] I (think I) got some basic understanding on what’s happening. The cool diagrams [3] from @bmtymrak also helped to get some understanding of the processes.

The actual issue
I’m using a CreateView to create a form which input data is stored in a model after submitting it. Before the data from the form is stored in my model, I would like to perform some more complex checks on a server-side. For now, let’s just assume that I would like to test if formfield_one (an int value) is bigger than formfield_two (also an int). If that is True, a redirect to the success URL shall take place. Otherwise an error message shall be raised.

What to do?
Having a look at the CreateView API reference [4] unluckily didn’t help me. Looking at the CreateView’s diagram [3] I noticed, that the FormView (the CreateView inherits) seems to be able to make some form.is_valid() checks, but I can’t find anything about that in the official documentation [5]. So this seems to be a dead-end.