Receive server response in templates

Hi Everyone,
I am new to django. Continuously learning.

I am using djano-json-rpc for client server communication. Which works fine. This is called in consumer.py and return a json object.

Now, my question is, How can I receive this response in view or any pages exists in templates?

Thanks in advance. In case something needs to be clarified please ask.

Receiving the data where? Are you saying your channels consumer is going to be making the rpc call, or are you saying the client browser is making that call? What’s the desired flow of data here?

Generally speaking, “pages” or “templates” don’t receive data. In the case of channels, the either the server or the browser receives “events” to be handled. In the browser, that means JavaScript.

I want to receive in the browser like you meant using javascript. Pardon me, my ideas are getting clear eventually.

This is how my console output looks like right now:

WebSocket DISCONNECT /ws/%3Curi%3E/ [127.0.0.1:61999]
WebSocket DISCONNECT /ws/ [127.0.0.1:61991]
HTTP GET /selector 200 [0.02, 127.0.0.1:65459]
WebSocket HANDSHAKING /ws/ [127.0.0.1:65462]
WebSocket CONNECT /ws/ [127.0.0.1:65462]
WebSocket HANDSHAKING /ws/%3Curi%3E/ [127.0.0.1:65467]
WebSocket CONNECT /ws/%3Curi%3E/ [127.0.0.1:65467]
HTTP GET /7cebd939231cb23d8da7.worker.js.map 200 [0.02, 127.0.0.1:65468]
HTTP GET /7cebd939231cb23d8da7.worker.js.map 200 [0.02, 127.0.0.1:65468

This is how my routing looks like:

from django.urls import re_path

from myproject.main import consumers

websocket_urlpatterns = [
    re_path(r'ws/', consumers.Consumer.as_asgi()),
]

In the consumer.py I have async method which returns something using json-rpc. This method is called ‘get_file_tree’. When user select a folder , this method returns the root folder. I want to grab that return in one of the pages I am showing to client in the browser.

I saw one example on how to receive data:

<script>