Relationships with foreign resources from a REST API?

Hi! First time posting here :smiley:

English is not my first language so if anything isn’t properly exaplained I am happy to clarify. Also, I am a complete beginner with django and web dev in general.

I am trying to build an app to manage hierarchies in a organization. Each of these hierarchies is esentially a tree with a bunch of nodes, lets say there is a CEO, below there is a production manager (PM) and a marketing manager, below PM there are other role, etc. Now, each of these roles should be associated with a specific employee.

So for now I have something like this.

class Hierarchy(Model):
    name = CharField()

class Role(Model):
    name = CharField()
    parent_role = ForeignKey("Role", null=True)
    hierarchy = ForeignKey("Hierarchy")
    employee = ForeignKey("Employee")

class Employee(Model):
    name = CharField()
    age = IntegerField()

My problem is that I need to retrieve the information about the employees from a REST API, and create the relationships using the ids provided by the API. For the sake of the example, let’s assume this API allows me to filter employees by age range

I would like to create a model Employee that is actually not stored in my db, but serves as an interface to the API that I need to use, so that I can make the connection as transparent as possible in the rest of my code. If I want to filter all the Roles that have associated an Employee in a specific age range I would like to do that jus like I would t if the Employee model was stored in my local db.

I don’t know if this is a good idea or if this is even possible.

I have looked at https://docs.djangoproject.com/en/3.0/ref/models/options/#managed, I have been reading about custom managers, and thought about using in-memory dbs, but none of my ideas seem super clean.

So is there any transparent and clean way I could implement this in django?
Thanks in advance :slight_smile: