SECURE_REFERRER_POLICY recommendations

For 3.0 SECURE_REFERRER_POLICY was added and also included on the python manage.py check --deploy command. My question is: what default do people typically use and why given the developer should set one?

I understand there are 8 different options and the docs recommend same-origin referrers so CSRF protection occurs.

So…default to same-origin? What are some examples where strict-origin or strict-origin-when-cross-origin make more sense?

Thanks for insight y’all!

-Will

I just had to use strict-origin-when-cross-origin to make my Django project read media files from Amazon S3.

I’m a newbie, though! Please let me know if I can make it same-origin (and how) for this scenario!

same-origin passes the referrer only when the origin remains the same, but not when you move origin or when you downgrade the protocol (I think). It also includes the full referrer (path and query string are included).

strict-origin exposes the origin to other sites, but never passes path or query string. It also doesn’t expose the referrer on protocol downgrades.

strict-origin-when-cross-origin protects the referrer on downgrades, sends the origin as a referrer to other sites, and uses the fill referrer on your own domain.

The latter two are required for user tracking, when you want to allow other pages to see where your their users were coming from.

TL;DR: I’d go with strict-origin if you can.

I updated Django 3.1 to default it to same-origin: https://docs.djangoproject.com/en/3.1/releases/3.1/#security . I say stick with it til it breaks.