settings.py DATBASES protect PASSWORD

I am still new to Django, so I am still learning the ropes. That being said, in settings.py, I know there is a DATABASES dictionary for connecting to databases. Since I am using Django in conjunction with MySQL, the ‘default’ dictionary within DATABASES includes some extra information, including the user and corresponding password for the connection to the database. Since I am still new to this material, I am uncertain if including this information could potentially compromise the security of the software I am developing or pose some other threat. If so, is there a more secure way to store this information? I read something about storing sensitive data in a .env file, but I was not certain if it was the most appropriate solution, nor was a sure if it was a reliable source.

Having the database credentials in your settings file is not inherently insecure. The problem isn’t so much that those credentials are in that file - it’s that it’s too easy to make a mistake that would publicize those credentials. (For example, by checking them in to your git repository.)

However, even that situation is not necessarily a problem if the database itself is secured to restrict access to only those machines needing access to it, such as the server running Django. That means that even if someone had the database credentials, they would still need to exploit a vulnerability on the server running the app in order to gain access. (And if they had that degree of access on the app server, they could probably retrieve the credentials from it anyway.)

Personally, I am a proponent of storing some settings externally to the settings.py file, such as in a .env file - but not for reasons associated with security, or at least not strictly related to security. So yes, I would say that it is an appropriate solution for this, but not the only appropriate solution.