Transfer a Django project using Conda environment to a Docker container

I am new to Django and am trying to follow the book Django for Professionals 3.1 by William S. Vincent. In this context, I am trying to move a simple Django project currently on my system (Mac OS) using conda environment on the PyCharm IDE to a Docker container.

The Problem

The book uses pipenv for the project and suggests to enter the following code in the Dockerfile: Dockerfile code given in the book

However, since I am using a Conda environment for the project, I cannot use the above code in Dockerfile.

What I Tried

Step 1

I started by entering the following code to create the environment.yml file containing all packages that the project uses.

(django_for_professionals_31) My-MacBook-Pro:django_for_professionals_31_ch1 me$ conda env export --no-builds > environment.yml

My environment.yml file looks like the following*:

name: django_for_professionals_31
channels:
  - defaults
dependencies:
  - asgiref=3.4.1
  - bzip2=1.0.8
  - ca-certificates=2022.4.26
  - certifi=2022.5.18.1
  - django=3.2.5
  - krb5=1.19.2
  - libedit=3.1.20210910
  - libffi=3.3
  - libpq=12.9
  - ncurses=6.3
  - openssl=1.1.1o
  - pip=21.2.4
  - psycopg2=2.8.6
  - python=3.10.4
  - pytz=2021.3
  - readline=8.1.2
  - setuptools=61.2.0
  - sqlite=3.38.3
  - sqlparse=0.4.1
  - tk=8.6.12
  - typing_extensions=4.1.1
  - tzdata=2022a
  - wheel=0.37.1
  - xz=5.2.5
  - zlib=1.2.12
prefix: /opt/anaconda3/envs/django_for_professionals_31

Step 2

Then, based on this tutorial, I tried to write my Dockerfile, as shown below:

# Pull base image
FROM continuumio/miniconda3

# Set environment variables
ENV PYTHONDONTWRITEBYTECODE 1
ENV PYTHONUNBUFFERED 1

# Set work directory
WORKDIR /code

# Create the environment:
COPY environment.yml .
RUN conda env create -f environment.yml

# Make RUN commands use the new environment:
SHELL ["conda", "run", "-n", "django_for_professionals_31", "/bin/bash", "-c"]