Treating a request like a subroutine

I’m relatively new to Django and web stuff in general and am struggling to get a specific user flow working in Django.

I have a collection of items that a user drops in what is basically a shopping cart. Then, when they have all their items, they have to go through them one-by-one and fill in a series of additional different data about each item. The second process takes them through a few sequential forms for each item. This second process is a separate app.

What I could do is add a button to each item in the shopping cart and have the end-user push that button for each item and add logic and whatnot to enforce rules so that they are responsible for completing that second process for each item.

But what I would like is a single button to march the end user through the second process for each item sort of like a subroutine so we never need to return to the source ‘shopping cart’ page and the end-user never forgets to do that second process.

So something like

for item in the shopping_cart:
redirect( to the first page of the second process using item )

There is something in my gut that is saying I can’t do this sort of thing in django/python and may need to do it in javascript or ajax but I don’t have enough experience to know. Thanks for your help.

I’m not sure I understand what the issue here is that you’re trying to address - or why it’s a problem.

Your view can call whatever functions it needs to call to perform whatever operations need to be performed. When a form is submitted, and you’ve finished processing the submitted data, you can redirect to any page you want.

(Side note: However you have this organized into apps is irrelevent. There’s nothing about an app that is in any way going to affect how you handle this.)