Tutorial #1 (poll app) raises ImproperlyConfigured error

I am new to django and I am following tutorial 1 (polls app)

after updating the mysite/urls.py file and running the runserver command I get the following error:

django.core.exceptions.ImproperlyConfigured: The included URLconf '<module 'polls.urls' from 'C:\\Users\\Me\\Desktop\\Personal\\Django\\mysite\\polls\\urls.py'>' does not appear to have any patterns in it. If you see the 'urlpatterns' variable with valid patterns in the file then the issue is 
probably caused by a circular import.

I am not sure how I am getting this issue as I am literally copying and pasting the code directly from the tutorial page (not exactly encouraging).

Can anyone advise what is going wrong?

polls/urls.py looks like this:

from django.urls import path

from . import views

urlpatterns = [
    path("", views.index, name="index"),
]

mysite/urls.py looks like this:

from django.contrib import admin
from django.urls import include, path

urlpatterns = [
    path("polls/", include("polls.urls")),
    path("admin/", admin.site.urls),
]

Side note: I strongly encourage you to not just “copy / paste” the code from the tutorial text. It is well-known that going through the physical process of typing in the code has benefits toward understanding and knowledge retention that isn’t obtained otherwise. Additionally, learning to debug your typos has additional benefits as well.

Please confirm your directory structure.

The error message shows a reference to C:\\Users\\Me\\Desktop\\Personal\\Django\\mysite\\polls\\urls.py

This implies that your other urls.py file would be in:
C:\\Users\\Me\\Desktop\\Personal\\Django\\mysite\\mysite\\urls.py

Is this correct?

Also, you have written:

Please confirm that the file name you have is actually polls/urls.py and not polls/url.py.

good spot, but yes I have it as polls/urls.py. I have amended the OP

Directories are also correct.

What does your polls/views.py file look like?