Use of default user model, email-password reset, etc.

I’m trying to set up a very plain user login system using as much of the Django default user model as possible. I’d like for the login/logout/ password emails to show the name of the project and very basic customization like that.

I used a namespace in my url files, and I don’t know where the world went sideways, but that seemed to require changes to just about every default .html file for user login/password reset. All that to add namespace decorators.

Then I find that the system only asks for an email for the target of the reset.
So if someone else registers an account with the same email… how does this even work?!

I’m a complete newbie to Django, so I have to ask…

(a) should I be using this default user model stuff?
(b) can anyone point me at a not-overly complex django project that sets up user-login with email-based password reset?
(c) Is there an easy alternative toward password reset that doesn’t involve email at all?

Sorry if this is very basic. I’ve been beating my head against this (with some chatGPT help) and after many hours… I’m still working on getting the password reset system to work (rather than the project that I wanted to work on).

Maybe I’m just using it all wrong?

I didn’t understand the question very well. But if you have multiple users who may have the same email address, they will probably need to provide something unique, like a username, before sending a password reset.

a) Django has already made sure that the user model has enough fields that we need to use it. See full list here
b) You can find a huge list of different Django projects on the internet. Here is one of them
c) I guess using email is the easiest, you can also use a phone number or two-step authentication.

1 Like

Also take a look at the django-allauth lib for different stage of auntification

1 Like