Using a Gmail account to send email

I have been using Gmail to send emails with Django for a few years now, but I am confused about how I am supposed to authenticate with Gmail because I have twice received emails (not directly, details below) from Google saying that our authentication method was being deprecated.

First email from Google in 2019: " Starting February 15, 2021, G Suite accounts will only allow access to apps using OAuth. Password-based access will no longer be supported. "

So I moved to using GitHub - dolfim/django-gmailapi-backend: Email backend for Django which sends email via the Gmail API to authenticate with OAuth, but I have recently received an email that they are deprecating out of band tokens, which that library uses: Google Developers Blog: Making Google OAuth interactions safer by using more secure OAuth flows . I don’t see any clear way to authenticate an app to send emails in their recommended migrations. They almost all seem centered around approving permissions for users rather than the app itself. I have opened an issue on the library OAuth out-of-band token deprecation · Issue #11 · dolfim/django-gmailapi-backend · GitHub, but there wasn’t a consensus on how to handle this.

One option was to use an app password, but that sounds like what I was doing initially. The other option I thought of was to create a page that only I can access to authenticate the application with OAuth, but that seems like a roundabout way of handling this.

I have reached out to Google’s Workspace team about this and should be talking to them soon, but in the few email exchanges I’ve had, they didn’t seem to understand what I was requesting. I’ll update if they give me any relevant information.

I am considering moving to SendGrid or some other service that handles email, but that feels unnecessary since we send so few emails.

Is there some easier way to authenticate with Gmail that I’m missing?