Using post_save to assign a group on registration

I am new to Django and Python. I am attempting to auto assign a user to a group based on a choice made for a field when a user registers. I am attempting to use post_save.

However before I tackle trying to save the user to the group, I need to figure out how to get the Group id where business_location_state id is equal to Group forum_id.

Here is my models.py that includes the post_save attempt at the bottom.

from django.contrib.auth.models import AbstractUser
from django.db import models
from machina.core.db.models import get_model
from django.db.models import Q
from django.contrib.auth.models import Group
# signals imports
from django.dispatch import receiver
from django.db.models.signals import (
    post_save
)

Forum = get_model("forum", "Forum")

class CustomUser(AbstractUser):
    age = models.PositiveIntegerField(null=True, blank=True)
    business_location_state = models.ForeignKey(Forum, null=True,  on_delete=models.SET_NULL, limit_choices_to={"lft":1})
    business_location_county = models.ForeignKey(Forum, null=True, on_delete=models.SET_NULL, related_name='county', limit_choices_to=(~Q(lft__in = (1,2))))

Group.add_to_class('forum_id', models.PositiveIntegerField(null=True, blank=True))

def user_addgroup_handler(sender, instance, created, *args, **kwargs):
    g = Group.objects.get(id, limit_choices_to=(Q(forum_id__in = CustomUser.business_location_county)))
    print (g)

post_save.connect(user_addgroup_handler, sender=CustomUser)

So far I am not able to get this to work.

I wouldn’t use a signal here. This appears to be something that is only done once when the user is created and not something done every time a change is saved to the User object (such as changing their password).
I would add that functionality to the view where the user is being registered.

@KenWhitesell
What would you do in case Django Admin is used ?