Value of foreignkey variable not updated after save

Hi all

Going to be hard to try and explain this, but here goes:

I have a Model called Subscription and a Model Wheels.

class Subscription(models.Model):
  wheels = models.ManyToManyField(Wheels, blank=True)
  price = models.IntegerField(default=0)

class Wheels(models.Model):
(not actually empty of course)

That model Subscription has a ManyToMany relationship variable called wheels, which points to the Wheels Model. And a price variable that shows the cost of the number of wheels in the subscription.
Now I want to do a override save (or post/pre save, all three have the same behavior) where it calculates the wheels in the subscription * 10.

Save method below is part of Subscription

def save(self, *args, **kwargs):

# Automatically calculate cost of subscription
        wheels_price = self.wheels.count() * 10
        self.price = wheels_price

print(self.wheels.count())

# Save to original Model
        super(Subscription, self).save(*args, **kwargs)

Now I save this using the admin GUI, clicking a ‘wheels’ and hitting save. I’ve did a count in the save as well, to see where it went wrong. Only if I save it twice, it will show the correct amount of wheels and calculate the price. There’s no change on the first save.

However, if I check the database after the first save, I do see that the Wheels foreignkey is populated, but the save says it is not.

{
        "amount_paid": 0,
        "price": 0,
        "wheels": [
        ],
        "get_wheels_count": 1
}

Any clues?

Seems I haven’t searched hard enough. Stumbled upon a post on manytomany being only updated after the save of the original instance.

So I have used the m2m changed signal now to trigger a new function that follows up the variables and saves them if necessary.

@receiver(m2m_changed, sender=Subscription.wheels.through)
def m2m_save_subscription_wheels(sender, instance, *args, **kwargs):
    instance = calculate_price_subscription(instance)