weird behavior while saving two forms

Hi. Im fairly new to django, and I see this behavior for the first time.
So, basically, i have 2 model forms, one for parent and one for child model.
Both forms created with passing model instances to them.
In my view, when i do
parent = parent_form.save()
child = child_form.save()
parent object fields not updated in DB (save method returns object with properly updated fields though), but when i do another saving order, like this:
then all works fine.
Any suggestions what i do wrong?

The quick answer is that when you have multiple forms on a page, you need to use a prefix on your forms to prevent field conflicts.

If this isn’t the issue, then we’re likely going to need to see the forms and the view involved.

When posting blocks of code here, enclose the code between lines of three backtick - ` characters to force the forum software to maintain the formatting of the code. You’ll have a line of ```, then the code, then another line of ```. (Don’t post images, copy/paste the code into your reply.)

thanks for response.
code with unexpected behavior looks like that:

parent_form = forms.ParentForm(request.POST, prefix='parent', instance=parent)
child_form = forms.ChildForm(request.POST, prefix='child', instance=child)

if parent_form.is_valid() and child_form.is_valid():
	with transaction.atomic():

# here i see correct field value
		# but in DB field isn't updated
		print(parent.example_field)

But when i just change forms saving order, all works as expected

parent_form = forms.ParentForm(request.POST, prefix='parent', instance=parent)
child_form = forms.ChildForm(request.POST, prefix='child', instance=child)

if parent_form.is_valid() and child_form.is_valid():
	with transaction.atomic():

I think we are also going to need to see the forms and models, too. What is the relationship between the two? (Are there foreign keys involved here?) Is this an update or create process? (This isn’t the complete view - we need to see more.)