Why not create custom User model when creating a new project by default?

Hi! I’m new to Django and I’ve been pouring over the docs before I get started. I was reading through the docs about customizing the User model, and the documentation “highly recommends” (Customizing authentication in Django | Django documentation | Django) implementing a custom User model right when you start a new project, even if you don’t use it for anything.

I was wondering why the creation of a new Django project doesn’t set this up for you by default. Seems like a strange gotcha to have, since it could be a headache if you get started with the project and then realize you want to customize the User (say, email only instead of username).

It’s also a bit confusing to follow as someone new to all of the concepts in Django, to make sure that I’m doing everything right when setting this up.

2 Likes

There was a discussion recently and a pr to update the startproject template. It seems to have lost momentum. I would welcome the changes.

1 Like

I think this would be valuable and I’m sad to see the old PR stall as it did.

1 Like

Opened a new PR with just this change to hopefully help move it along. I’d appreciate any feedback on if I did it wrong, but this is the way that I understand the docs advise to do it: Fixed #27909 -- Add custom user model to project template by loganmac · Pull Request #17034 · django/django · GitHub

Just tossing out a random thought - take it for what it’s worth …

The first question that comes to mind is what app is that User model going to be created in? I’m not going to rehash the discussions regarding the naming of what is currently the “inner project-name directory”, but I don’t think that that would be the appropriate directory for that model.

As a result, my reaction to this is that this (creating an alternate User model) might more appropriately belong as an option in the startapp command and not in startproject.