Being sensitive and #BLM

I start this topic by saying that I’m simply in love with Django and Python. I’ve been using them for more than 10 years now. I’ve been promoting Django whenever I could. Teaching it, implementing projects with it, helping people to learn it so they can evolve in their careers. I’m also very tolerant, sensible, paying attention to details so that persons can be themselves around me, even if we don’t agree on all aspects of life. I believe that we can agree to disagree and be respectful with each other. I’ve been trying to keep personal political, social, religious views apart from the technical aspects of my life and this worked very well so far, but I’m very concerned with the change in technical domain in the recent times.

I have just looked at the Django docs for a specific topic and found myself staring to the top banner stating that the Django Software Foundation is supporting the black lives and the #BlackLivesMatter movement. I agree with the first part, because I believe that no life is less important than another, but have trouble with the second.

There are many people in the Django community against and fighting racism. We have racism in many forms, not only against the black communities and not only in United States. But we are living strange times with a lot of things happening in our social and professional lives. I believe that in times like this the professional communities should be aware and sensitive not to get involved in political and biased actions, but keep technical stuff technical, and political stuff to the political realm. And I’m saying this because:

1. BlackLivesMatter is no longer just a social movement, but has been politicized and is being used for political reasons. Getting along this use might fit some political views, but may harm people with other views, which cherish life in all colours, but don’t agree with the radical twist the movement has taken.