Composite Primary Key

Hi

I am new to Django and working on an pre-existing database that has 22 tables with compound primary keys. I have seen the existing ticket on this subject, talking about faking primary keys by using a primary key and a unique constraint. But that does not allow (obviously) the inclusion of duplicates in the primary key. I have tried to remove the primary key constraint, but then it does not work either because it is expecting an id field (my classes are not managed, since I started from an existing database).

I would like to maintain my database structure as much as possible, but I am afraid that I will have to add new ids to all my tables. Is there another possible way to work this out? or maybe is it about to be solved in a next release…?

Thank you

1 Like

Hi

This was literally asked on the django-developers mailing list at about the same time: Redirecting to Google Groups

Copying some bits of my reply here:

Multiple column primary keys is a long-open feature request. There’s a wiki page: MultipleColumnPrimaryKeys – Django and the ticket, still open, is #373: https://code.djangoproject.com/ticket/373 .

I’ve thought of a technique before for making composite PK’s work, though haven’t tested it. It should be possible to put a database view in front of your table that combines your primary key columns into one string. For example:

CREATE VIEW book_view AS SELECT CONCAT(catalogue_id, '-', book_id) AS primary_key, author_id, ... FROM book;

Then define your model as having a CharField as a primary key. PostgreSQL and MariaDB/MySQL will both automatically make single-table views map inserts and updates to the underlying table. Though you might need a trigger to allow inserts (new object saves) to work, splitting the parts back out.

If you try this techinque, let me know.