Copying Old Site to Localhost Isn't Working

I’ve inherited a Django development project and am having A LOT of trouble getting it to work on my local Ubuntu 18.04 machine. The project was started in 2013 and has gone through bursts of development by various people.
I need to copy it to my local machine before I start cleaning it up, upgrading and deleting all the old sql dumps that seem to be scattered everywhere amongst other obvious clutter.
I need the working site as a reference so i don’t want to start messing around with it on the current server.

I am pretty new to Django and only recently completed one of those 4 hour YouTube tutorials. I think I could probably start coding a fresh site and would have some idea about deploying it onto a web server but getting an existing site with out of date software to run on my local machine is a whole other story.

I am trying to decide on the best way forward…

1. Do I keep trying to get it working on my local machine by installing old software and then upgrade it (a large amount of learning about old systems and the result might just be an old and out of date instance of the project)?
    OR
  2. Do I start from zero on a fresh install of django and then rebuild it using the existing site only as a reference (it wouldn’t instantly be working and I might have to learn about some things I would otherwise not have to touch but at least I’d end up with something that works and is up to date)?
    OR
  3. Is there a simple fix that would get the existing site to run on a new virtual environment (start with what exists and modify it as necessary)?

Option 3 is my ideal if its possible.

The project is hosted on Digital Ocean.
** Overall System Specs
OS = Ubuntu 14.04.1 LTS
Vhosts folder contains four folders - development, staging, production and a folder named after one of the previous developers.
All vhosts appear to be accessible as sub-domains.
I have copied all the files down from the www folder.