Django Design Pattern for Large complex web app

I’m new to Django and have read numerous articles about constructing complex web-based applications that incorporate intricate business logic. We anticipate that the application, which we’re rewriting from scratch, will be substantial, involving processes that could take upwards of 300 pages with complex business logic

1. What design pattern should be adopted in Django for effective architecture? For instance:

a. Should each model have a corresponding service layer (service.py) to facilitate the creation of reusable functions that can be utilized across different screens, as suggested on ilovedjango.com?

b. Alternatively, is it advisable to adhere to the concept of managers in Django?

c. Between the service.py and managers.py patterns, which is considered more reliable and maintainable?

d. Additionally, is it necessary to implement Dependency Injection, and if so, does this introduce performance issues? I came across a discussion on this topic at snyk.io related to the repository design pattern.

which can we maintainable, testable & better performance

1 Like

<opinion>
There aren’t any “universally accepted” patterns for large Django projects. For every individual proposing a “service layer”, you can find an equal number identifying them as unnecessary.

I’m in that latter camp.

Our flagship application consists of 9 apps with more than 120,000 lines of production code, using more than 125 models, a complete custom row-level security model, and a significant number of dynamically generated forms and views.

We have found no need to go beyond or outside Django’s standard project structure. We never even considered the implementation of a “service layer”, because we have never seen the need to extend Django in that direction.