Django ORM Installation

I am a complete newbie looking to build a voluntary organisation web site which could have a high degree of personalisation with quite a few SQL forms. Django ORM and Django CMS look close to what I might need.

Can anyone please advise on how I could use Django ORM on a PC?

• Can Django ORM be installed on a PC and how much memory and diskspace would it need?
  • Can Django ORM be accessed by a remorte PC over the Cloud? (e.g. Installed on say Blue Host

My concern is Django ORM is a form of CASE tool and if so, it may run very slowly on a PC.

I’m not sure where you’re getting your information, but I think you may have a bit of a wrong impression as to what Django is and does.

The Django ORM is definitely not a CASE tool by most definitions of the term. That component of the Django framework is the interface layer between Django and your database.

If you want a better picture of what Django is and does, I’d start with the overview page. Then I’d suggest looking at both the Django at a glance page and the first page of the tutorial to determine whether or not Django is the right tool for you.

The important thing to remember here is that Django is not WordPress, Drupal, LifeRay, etc. It’s much more a developer’s toolkit.

If that’s what you’re looking for, great, we’re here to help. But be aware that you’re going to need to learn a bit about a lot of different technologies along the way. You will need to learn Python, HTML, CSS and likely JavaScript to be able to produce a finished product.

I’m not entirely familar with the term CASE, but regarding the CMS I’ll toss out Wagtail. It’s built on top of Django and has its own little ecosystem and is growing well.

CASE = Computer-aided software engineering. A bit of an expensive fad from about the mid 80’s to the mid 90’s. The idea was to provide facilities such that “non-programmers could program business systems.”