GSOC 2023 Discussion and Feedback: Auto-importing shell

Hello everyone,
I’ve started this discussion to get feedback for my proposal for the project: Adding Enhanced Shell Plus Functionality to Django Core. I am glad this is being implemented this summer, as I myself have been struggling with this. This functionality will make it very convenient to do some quick tests.
I have been studying django-extensions and their implementation of shell_plus.
My background: I am a final year undergrad student in computer science and have been working with Django for 4 years professionally, started contributing last year.

Based on my study it seems quite straightforward and simple to implement.

1. It brings a list of all app configs to check the list of names of apps and their respective models.
  2. Then it checks if there are any models specified by the user or the developer in the " dont_load" variable.
  3. Once the “load_models” dictionary gets all the model names, it is sent for checking for any alias names for models.
  4. Now every model to be imported is stored in a dictionary.
  5. This dictionary goes through a CollisionResolvingRunner which checks if there are any conflicts in the names of the models of any apps anywhere.
  6. This function is called by the handle method in management/command/shell_plus.
  7. Once the function is called exec command is used to import the list of models in the shell.
    There are also multiple checks for mongoengine and to use document_registry if mongoengine is being used.
    We can modify the Django shell command to follow a similar way of working to import all models in the shell automatically. But please tell me if there is any catch to this, that I might be missing.

Question: Are we planning to add this functionality with our updated shell, that certain specified models are not imported and every model other than that list is imported?
It’ll be great to know your thoughts on this one @adamchainz

Hi @rajdesai24