GSOC 2023 Discussion: Moving models between apps

Hello everyone,
I am a Pre final student from India and want to contribute to a long standing issue of #24686 (Support for Moving a model between two Django apps) – Django as a part of GSOC 2023. This topic is created so that i can discuss , clear doubts and propose the best possible solution.
There was also some discussion related to moving models between apps but its still an unsolved problem.
Currently models can be moved between the apps using SeparateDatabaseAndState but even that might create problems as mentioned in a comment by @MarkusH .
After going through the discussion on the ticket, i have a question :

• If we use SeparateDatabaseAndState to move models, can we turn on/off old_app ? as we have to apply different operations in both apps so there are dependencies.

Hi @DevilsAutumn, it’s great that you want to contribute!

Markus essentially answered that question in a later comment. In order to turn off the old app, you’ll have to edit the migration in the new app to make two changes:

• Remove the dependency on the migration in the old app, and
  • Change the operation from a SeparateDatabaseAndState() which creates the model in new_app only in memory, to a regular CreateModel(); this is required for the whole set of migrations to work correctly on an empty database, when old_app is no longer available.

I should note, though, that while the issue is indeed long-standing, it seems that someone from Brasil has started working on it only a few weeks ago. Have you coordinated with them?

hi @shaib , thanks for the quick reply.
Actually i was doing research on this issue from about a month, trying to reproduce various edge cases with different approaches, but somehow i missed to assign it to myself.
Yes i saw that that someone from brazil started working on it and i’ll surely connect with him so that we can work together to find the best approach.

I have opened a draft PR for what was in my mind .