How best to understand the use of "project" in documentation

I’m brand new to Python & Django and a bit stumped by the use of the word “project”. When installing Django via the tutorial, I’ve read How to install Django on Windows and stumbled on py -m venv project-name. I suspect that what is meant there is different from the use of “project” in Writing your first Django app, part 1. The former seems more likely to be the name of an environment and the latter the name of a discrete website project. And I end not being clear on where (in which directory) commands should be entered. (Hope I’m not being to dense about all this!) I’d greatly appreciate clarification. Thanks.

Actually, their intent is that the “project-name” be the same in both cases - just in different parent directories.

Yes, one is the name of the project you are working on, and that same name can be used as the name for your virtual environment. Their perspective is that you will create a separate venv for each project. Using the same name makes it easy to remember which venv is used by which project.

As far as what directories each of those should reside in, it’s really up to you. I have a directory named “ve” that contains all my venvs, and one named “git” to hold all my git repos. But the choices are yours.

1 Like

I like to name the environment .venv inside of the project directory, but @KenWhitesell’s method is great, too.

django-admin and manage.py

So there are two Django-specific commands that may be confusing here as well:

1. django-admin
  2. manage.py

These are very similar. The main differences are:

• manage.py doesn’t exist until you run the command django-admin startproject project_name [directory]
  • manage.py loads your settings file into an environment variable called DJANGO_SETTINGS_MODULE

You can read more about the two utilities in the docs.