How to add an object attribute to another object

Hello,

sorry I’m a newbie in coding trying to learn with Python and Django, so I’ll maybe ask some trivial or not relevant questions.

I tried the Django Howto and now try with another app : a quote app.

Here is my problem(s) : I have an internal model with 3 objects : a quote, a source (of the quote), an author (of the source).

The object “author” is linked to the object “source” with a ForeignKey. Now, I would like, the name of the author, to appear directly in the quote.

I think there is two ways to do it : whether in the interface, or in the model. I think it’s semantically correct to say that a quote has (by inference) an author, so I would like to do it in the model.

I tried with the DB Function : ForeignKey.to_field but I’m not sure it’s the good way to do it…

Any help ? Thank you :slight_smile:

Whenever anyone is looking to get started, I always point them to the official Django Tutorial and the Django Girls Tutorial. Both are really good and if you work(*) through them, you’ll have worked with all the key concepts of what Django has to offer.

In this particular case, working through the tutorial will provide you with the information you need to answer these questions - and probably many others as well.

(* Footnote: “work” in this context means to actually type the code as part of the exercises, not to just copy/paste from the text to your editor window. Making yourself type the code forces you to really look at the code being written, and will enhance your understanding of what’s going on. Also, the typo mistakes you will make along the way will help develop your eye for seeing similar mistakes you may make in the future.)

Ken

1 Like

Hello,

Thank you for your answer. This is actually what I did.

I now try to make something on my own, but I don’t see the answer of my question in the tutorial